Sikkim Krantikari Morcha poised for comeback in Sikkim | India News

msid 110632974,imgsize 661504

NEW DELHI: The Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) is poised to secure a second consecutive term in power, while the opposition Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) aims to unseat them as votes cast in 32 assembly constituencies is being tallied on Sunday. According to the early trends, SKM is ahead in 29 seats, while SDF is struggling to secure more after leading in one seat.However, the BJP is looking for hope in the electoral battle.
Also Read: Sikkim Assembly Election Results
Other parties in the fray
Other parties vying for seats include the Congress, and Citizen Action Party-Sikkim (CAP-S). The counting process is under way at six locations across six districts, with stringent security measures in place starting from 6 am.
EC ensures free and fair counting process
The officials said that arrangements have been made for counting votes in various districts: nine seats in Gangtok, seven in Namchi, five in Pakyong, four each in Soreng and Gyalshing, and three in Mangan. The Election Commission of India has deployed observers to ensure a free and fair counting process, and comprehensive security measures have been implemented under their supervision.
Approximately 80 per cent of the 4.64 lakh eligible voters cast their ballots in the 32 assembly constituencies and one Lok Sabha seat during the first phase on April 19.
The votes for the lone Lok Sabha seat will be counted along with the rest of the country on June 4. Additionally, the CEO office reported that government employees cast an extra four per cent of votes through postal ballots.
High-stakes battle as key figures Tamang, Chamling, Bhutia, and more vie for victory
Among the 146 candidates in the fray, notable contenders include Sikkim chief minister Prem Singh Tamang, his wife Krishna Kumari Rai, former chief minister Pawan Kumar Chamling, and former Indian footballer Bhaichung Bhutia. The SKM and SDF fielded candidates in all 32 assembly seats, followed by the BJP (31), CAP-Sikkim (30), and Congress (12).
Tamang eyes second consecutive term
Chief minister Tamang, who is leading the SKM’s bid for a second consecutive term, is contesting from Rhenock and Soreng-Chakung assembly constituencies, facing a multi-cornered contest. The 56-year-old chief minister has expressed confidence that Sikkim’s electorate will grant the party another term. His wife, Krishna Kumari Rai, is contesting from the Namchi-Singhithang assembly constituency.
Chamling exudes confidence in Sikkim’s support for SDF’s return to power
Chamling, the five-term former chief minister, is also confident that the people of Sikkim have voted for his party’s return to power after 25 years of rule. The 73-year-old is engaged in a multi-cornered contest in two assembly constituencies, Namcheybung and Poklok Kamrang, as he seeks a record ninth term as an MLA.
Bhaichung Bhutia, the SDF vice-president, is contesting from the Barfung assembly constituency, while state BJP president D R Thapa is seeking re-election from Upper Burtuk.
2019 elections
The 2019 election witnessed a close finish, with the SKM winning 17 seats against the SDF’s 15, ending the latter’s 25-year rule. Interestingly, the SDF was ousted from power despite receiving more votes than the SKM.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *