Sanitation Workers, Transgenders Among 8,000 Special Guests At PM’s Oath-Taking Event

1euh25f pm

Narendra Modi will be sworn in for a record third term on Sunday

New Delhi:

Sanitation workers, transgenders, and labourers who worked on the Central Vista Project will be among the special guests at the swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister Narendra Modi at the weekend, sources said on Friday.

Railway employees working on Vande Bharat and Metro trains, and beneficiaries of central government schemes are among “Viksit Bharat ambassadors” invited to attend PM Modi’s third oath ceremony, to be held at the Rashtrapati Bhavan on Sunday evening.

Arrangements are being made for over 8,000 guests at Rashtrapati Bhavan, sources said.

PM Modi’s Oath Ceremony On Sunday

Narendra Modi will be sworn in for a record third term as Prime Minister after the BJP-led NDA coalition won the Lok Sabha election on Tuesday. The BJP and its allies formally chose the 73-year-old as their leader at a key meeting in Delhi a day after the election results.

Various South Asian leaders have been invited to the ceremony. Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina and Sri Lankan President Ranil Wickremesinghe have already confirmed their presence.

ALSO READ | Modi 3.0: BJP Likely To Keep Top Ministries, Allies Push For More

Invites have also been reportedly sent to Nepal Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’, his Bhutan counterpart Tshering Tobgay, and Mauritius PM Pravind Jugnauth.

In 2014, the leaders of the SAARC (South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation) countries had attended PM Modi’s first swearing-in ceremony, and in 2019, leaders of the BIMSTEC (Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation) countries attended the event.

PM Modi is the second Indian to win a third straight term in power after the country’s first Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru.

In the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP was reduced to 240 seats from its overwhelming majority of 303 in 2019. The BJP-led NDA, which had won 352 parliamentary constituencies in 2019, has also come down to 293 but is above the majority mark of 272.

PM Modi and the BJP are relying on their allies to form the government. The two biggest BJP partners are Chandrababu Naidu’s Telugu Desam Party, which got 16 seats, and Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal United, which secured 12.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *