PM Modi Meets President Droupadi Murmu, Invited To Form Government, PM Modi Swearing In On Sunday

3gvepjeo pm modi rashtrapati bhavan third term invited to form

PM-designate Modi will become a three-time leader of India.

New Delhi:

President Droupadi Murmu has invited Narendra Modi – as leader of the BJP’s National Democratic Alliance – to form the next union government, days after the coalition eased to victory in the 2024 Lok Sabha election. Mr Modi will take oath, as too will members of his new cabinet, at 6 pm Sunday.

A statement from Rashtrapati Bhavan said Ms Murmu had “satisfied herself on the basis of various letters of support received, that the BJP-led NDA alliance… is in a position to command a majority support of the newly constituted 18th Lok Sabha and form a stable government…”

The communique said it had, therefore, appointed Narendra Modi as Prime Minister of India.

Mr Modi will be the first three-term PM since Congress stalwart Jawaharlal Nehru.

Addressing the media after meeting the President, Mr Modi said, “This morning all NDA allies chose me as the leader and informed the President. The President then called me… and appointed me PM-designate. I told the President Sunday evening will be convenient (for the oath-taking ceremony).”

Mr Modi also thanked voters for giving the NDA a third term.

“NDA, for the third time, has been given a chance to serve the nation. I want to thank the people of this country for giving us this chance… and want to assure them that the pace at which the country developed in the last two terms… we will work at the same pace and with the same dedication.”

“NDA government 1, 2, and now 3… this is continuity. We will take the country forward… I have had experience of doing the Prime Minister’s job for 10 years and will use this experience well,” he said.

The Prime Minister-designate also likened the new Lok Sabha – the 18th – to the “youthful energy and zeal to do something” of a teenager. “In a way it is the first ‘azadi ka amrit mahotsav‘ election.”

Elected Leader Of New NDA MPs

Earlier today Mr Modi, 73, completed the formality of being named the leader of the NDA’s newly-elected MPs; his nomination was proposed by Rajnath Singh and backed by all member parties.

Following his nomination Mr Modi spoke about coalition politics, declaring, “Our alliance reflects the spirit of India and we are dedicated to upholding constitutional values. NDA is the most successful…”

READ | “NDA Most Successful, Need Consensus To Run Country”: PM

His remarks were seen as acknowledgement of his reliance on allies – new territory after the BJP’s brute majorities in 2014 and 2019, which allowed it to form the government sans active support.

BJP’s Coalition Avatar

In results declared Tuesday the BJP won 240 seats, but fell 32 short of the majority mark. The party will, however, retain power for a third consecutive term – and hand Mr Modi a third term as Prime Minister, matching Congress stalwart Jawaharlal Nehru – on the back of NDA members’ 53 MPs.

READ | “I Will Be With PM Modi Always”: Nitish Kumar’s Jibe At INDIA

The support of incoming Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu’s 16 TDP MPs and the 12 from the JDU of his Bihar counterpart, Nitish Kumar, are seen as critical to ensuring the BJP can form and run its government for the full five years. Sans those 28 seats, its numbers fall to just 265.

The spotlight is now on negotiations between the BJP and its two key allies, each of which is batting for high-profile ministerial berths and, in the case of the TDP, the Lok Sabha Speaker’s Chair.

Sources have told NDTV the JDU expects at least two cabinet berths and a junior minister’s post, as well as a common minimum programme – in return for its support.

READ | NDA Meets To Decide On Cabinet, Nitish, C Naidu Seek Key Posts

Maharashtra Chief Minister Eknath Shinde’s Shiv Sena faction and the LJP of Chirag Paswan, who bring seven and five MPs to the table, are also angling for their ‘rewards’.

INDIA Bloc’s Strong Show

In his speech Mr Modi also took several swipes at the Congress and the opposition INDIA bloc, which defied exit poll predictions to mount a strong challenge to the BJP.

READ | “Congress Couldn’t Get 100 Seats Even After 10 Years”: PM’s Attack

The bloc has 232 seats, including a record haul for the Samajwadi Party in Uttar Pradesh, a fightback from the Trinamool that cost the BJP six seats in Bengal, and Tamil Nadu’s DMK routing the BJP again.

The Congress, meanwhile, finished with 99 wins from the 328 seats it contested. That was the party’s best result in 15 years; it won 44 in 2014 and 52 in 2019.  There was speculation the party could approach Nitish Kumar and/or Chandrababu Naidu to cross over, but that has been played down.

NDTV is now available on WhatsApp channels. Click on the link to get all the latest updates from NDTV on your chat.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *