Arunachal Pradesh, Sikkim Assembly Election Results Live: Counting Begins For Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh Assembly Polls: 10 Points

9cl868g8 sikkim

In Sikkim, the ruling SKM has crossed the halfway mark.

New Delhi:
The verdict of Himalayan states Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh will be out today, as the votes of elections to their legislative assemblies are being counted.

Here are top 10 points on this big story:

  1. Ten BJP candidates in Arunachal have been elected unopposed. So, the counting is being held for 50 out of 60 Assembly seats. In early trends, the BJP has crossed the halfway mark now, with 10 wins and leads on 25 seats. The BJP’s ally, Conrad Sangma’s National People’s Party, is leading in six seats. The Congress is leading in one seat each. 

  2. In Sikkim, incumbent Sikkim Krantikari Morcha has crossed the halfway mark in early trends and is leading in 31 out of 32 seats. The Opposition Sikkim Democratic Front is leading in one seat. 

  3. Among those elected unopposed is Chief Minister Pema Khandu, who has won three of his four terms as MLA without a contest from Mukto is in Tawang district.

  4. The others include Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein from Chowkham, Techi Kaso from Itanagar, Nyato Dukam from Taliha, and Mutchu Mithi from Roing.

  5. In the 2019 assembly election, the Janata Dal (United), or JD(U), won seven seats, the National People’s Party (NPP) five, Congress four and People’s Party of Arunachal (PPA) one seat. Two independent candidates had also won.

  6. In Sikkim, the ruling Sikkim Krantikari Morcha — locked in a primarily bipolar contest with Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) — is hoping for a second straight term in power as votes for 32 assembly seats are counted.

  7. Both parties have fielded candidates on all 32 seats. The BJP has fielded 31 candidates and is expected to put up a fight in a handful of seats and the new party CAP-S(Citizen Action Party-Sikkim) on 30 seats. The Congress is contesting on 12 seats.

  8. Spearheading the ruling SKM’s bid, Chief Minister Prem Singh Tamang is contesting from Rhenock and Soreng-Chakung assembly constituencies, where he is locked in a multi-cornered contest.

  9. Former Chief Minister Pawan Chamling – who headed the state for five terms – said he is confident that the people have voted his party, the SDF, back in power.

  10. In 2019, the SKM had ended the 25-year rule of the SDF by winning 17 seats against 15 of Pawan Chamling’s party. Going by the ‘first past the post’ system, the SDF was unseated despite polling more votes than the SKM. 

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *